Saturday, August 14, 2010


In the wake of its week long focus on electric-powered flight at the just-concluded Oshkosh AirVenture 2010, EAA just announced a $60,000 prize to "speed development of electric flight technology."
As I posted earlier here, during the World Symposium on Electric Aircraft, Erik Lindbergh awarded his LEAP prize to three companies for their contributions to the burgeoning technology: Yuneec International's E430, Alex Lange's in-production Antares 20E motorglider, and John Monett's E-flight Initiative.

Prize money will go to the individual or corporation that demonstrates the most promising level of achievement in electric-powered flight at AirVenture 2011.  "Most promising" will be more fully detailed once EAA completes its "assessment of the status of electric flight", according to the official release.

EAA President Tom Poberezny, at left with representatives of the four companies that will make equal contributions to the $60,000 prize money:AeroLEDs, Aircraft Spruce & Specialty, Dynon Avionics, and Wicks Aircraft Supply, had this to say:
“They, like EAA, recognize that much of the innovation in the aviation world has come out of homebuilders’ workshops and the creative environment that is part of AirVenture Oshkosh."
The E-Flight Prize is one of a to-be-disclosed series of programs EAA will establish over the next decade to stimulate R&D in electric flight.
Poberezny encouraged other leaders in the EAA community to augment the prize over the next year.
Entry forms and competition criteria will be posted on EAA's website or by writing EAA E-Flight Prize, P.O. Box 3086, Oshkosh, WI 54903-3806.

No comments: